Catholic Courier

Posted: July 13, 2009

Last Updated: September 26, 2012

The Courier's History, Mission and Leadership

The Catholic Courier, newspaper of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester, New York, was founded by lay Catholics in 1889 as The Catholic Journal. Over the past century, the newspaper's name has consisted of the words "Catholic," "Courier" and "Journal" in various combinations. The paper was officially renamed Catholic Courier on its 100th anniversary in 1989.

In the wake of the Great Depression, the Rochester Diocese assumed ownership of the newspaper, and its publishing company, the Rochester Catholic Press Association, Inc., was incorporated in 1951. Today, that corporation publishes not only the Catholic Courier, but also the Spanish-language newsmonthly El Mensajero Católico and the Official Directory of the Diocese of Rochester. It also provides graphic-design and marketing services for non-profit groups.

Mission & Vision Statements


The Catholic Courier provides news, information and commentary about the Diocese of Rochester, the Roman Catholic Church, and issues that affect each in order to credibly inform the Catholics of the Diocese as well as others, thereby advancing the mission of the Diocese of Rochester.


The Catholic Courier will be sought out by all area Catholics as the indispensable source of news, information and commentary about the Diocese and the Roman Catholic Church.


Syracuse Bishop Robert J. Cunningham, apostolic administrator of the Diocese of Rochester, is acting president the RCPA and publisher of the Catholic Courier and El Mensajero Católico. The corporation is directed by a volunteer board of lay Catholics and clergy. Other officers of the corporation are: Rev. Daniel Condon, secretary; and Mr. William H. Kedley, treasurer.

The following individuals serve on RCPA standing committees. Asterisks denote non-board committee members who are community representatives to the committees, staff of the newspapers or of the Diocese of Rochester.

Editorial Committee Finance Committee Board Recruitment &
Community Outreach Committee
Ms. Mary Holleran, Chair Mr. William Kedley, Chair Mr. Timothy Fitzgerald, Chair
Mr. Scott Benjamin Ms. Mary Amato Ms. Andrea Coloruotolo O'Neill *
Ms. Donna Dedee Ms. Karlee Bolaños Mr. Salvatore DiCiaccio
Mr. Robert Finnerty Mr. Salvatore DiCiaccio Ms. Myrtle Fontenette
Ms. Jennifer Ficcaglia * Mr. Timothy Fitzgerald Ms. Karen Franz *
Rev. John Firpo Ms. Karen Franz * Rev. Joseph A. Hart *
Mr. Mark Hare * Mr. Richard Hare Ms. Zoraida Martínez Alloco
Rev. Joseph A. Hart * Rev. Joseph A. Hart * Ms Helen McDermott
Mr. Jerry Grundman * Ms. Helen McDermott Ms. Jill Morgan
Mr. Douglas Mandelaro * Ms. Dolores Pasto-Ziobro